Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies

Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies Review

An unlikely friendship between two stubborn, lonely souls anchors this big-hearted book and dares us all to ask for more.

When her life falls apart on the eve of her 40th birthday, Kate Parker finds herself volunteering at the Lauderdale House for Exceptional Ladies. There she meets 97-year-old Cecily Finn. Cecily's tongue is as sharp as her mind, but she's fed up with pretty much everything.

Having no patience for Kate's choices in life or love, Cecily prescribes her a self-help book...of sorts. She asks her to read Thought for Food: an unintentionally funny 1950s cookbook high on enthusiasm, featuring menus for anything life can throw at the "easily dismayed," such as:

Breakfast with a Hangover
Tea for a Crotchety Aunt
Dinner for a Charming Stranger


As she and Cecily break out of their ruts, Kate will learn far more than recipes.

A feel-good summer read with a wicked sense of humor, Vicky Zimmerman's book will teach you that food is for feasting, friends are for savoring, and the way to a man's heart is...irrelevant.

Fans of Jennifer Weiner, Elin Hildenbrand, and Sophie Kinsella will delight in this recipe for confidence, romance, and fun.

Title:Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies
Edition Language:English

Enjoy the book review !

    Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies Reviews

  • Jayme

    3.5 ⭐️ Rounded downI wish I had known before reading this, that the story was inspired by the author’s grandmother, and an actual cookbook...I may have read the story, with a different eye...or ...

  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader

    Oh my gosh, look at that adorable yellow cover! This books like a sweet one, doesn’t it? Let me tell you, it has great depth to balance that sugar.Kate Parker is almost forty when she is dumped and ...

  • PorshaJo

    Rating 4.25What an unexpected fun read! While looking for a foodie book for a buddy read with Dana, I came across this one. The bright yellow cover, the title, caught my eye. Knew nothing about it but...

  • Susan

    Sweet and Sour SauceI would describe the first part of this book as a rom-com which I like in movies, but am not enamoured with in print. In addition, I don’t identify with foodies and I’m loathe ...

  • DeAnn

    3.5 cooking starsI really enjoyed the main character in this one, Kate Parker, although Cecily might think that she should be the main character! It does seem like a trend that there are more books wr...

  • Diane Barnes

    I confess right up front that my "just average" rating has more to do with when I read this book than the book itself. It was a library hold that came in while I was reading another absorbing novel, s...

  • Regina

    One of my favorite reads of 2020. Absolutely charming....

  • Dawn Michelle

    This book has 65 chapters and it doesn't really pick up and become interesting until chapter 50. While I liked Cecily very much [SO much snark!], Kate just about drove me mad. And the early chapters a...

  • Bookread2day

    Everyone on Twitter is talking about The Woman Who Wanted More by Vicky Zimmerman and I can see why. I myself had to tweet about this book as I think it's sensational with a mixture of food to feed th...

  • Marianne

    4.5★sMiss Cecily’s Recipes for Exceptional Ladies (also published as The Woman Who Wanted More) is a novel by British author, Vicky Zimmerman (also writing as Stella Newman). They were on vacation...