Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things Review

In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I've Loved Before.

Mansfield, Massachusetts is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburbanites and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. Edie has her own plans, and they don’t include a prince charming.

But as Edie dives into schoolwork and applying for college scholarships, she finds herself drawn to two Mansfield boys who start vying for her attention. First there's Sebastian, Edie’s childhood friend and first love. He’s sweet and smart and . . . already has a girlfriend. Then there's Henry, the local bad boy and all-around player. He’s totally off limits, even if his kisses are chemically addictive.

Both boys are trouble. Edie can’t help but get caught between them. Someone's heart is going to break. Now she just has to make sure it isn't hers.

Title:Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
Edition Language:English

Enjoy the book review !

    Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things Reviews

  • Nenia ?? Queen of Villainy ?? Campbell

    Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || PinterestDNF @ p. 25 Reading this book was like the visual equivalent of hearing nails on a chalkboard. It's so saccharine and is trying way too hard....

  • Stacy Fetters

    "Either Henry had hugged a tree recently or Lucifer endorsed cologne after all."Everyone who knows me knows that there is one thing that will make me dislike a book and that’s for the author to make...

  • Fall-Out-Book-Nerd

    Well that was just... Not for me. I feel like it's my own fault for not reading the synopsis because I don't think I would have picked it up knowing about the completely cliché and just full of over ...

  • Natalie

    EPIC FAILI absolutely LOATHED the main character Edie. She was selfish and snotty, and I didn’t like the way she used everyone around her. She knew that Sebastian had a girlfriend but was still obse...

  • Yna the Mood Reader

    Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things is a (sickeningly) sweet YA contemporary retelling that reminds of TATBILB and a mellowed-down version of Gossip Girl. It is also linked to be a retelling...

  • Samantha Hastings

    ‘The whole delightful and astonishing truth’ is this modern retelling of Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park is a must read! Edie (Fanny) Price is a foster kid who is spending the last few months of he...

  • Sana

    Another Jane Austen retelling that I'd like to read because it sounds so good? Unprecedented pt. 2...

  • Alyssa

    I wanted to love this book so badly. It sounded like the exact kind of cute contemporary that would have me shouting from the rooftops for everyone to pick this up. Unfortunately, that didn't happen.M...

  • Beth

    I think this is more of a 3.5 out of 5. Goodreads it is 2020, please let us have half stars. ANYWAYThis was a very solid debut and I’d love to read more from Firkins. ** I received an arc of this fr...

  • Kerri

    Looks like I’m going to have an unpopular opinion here, but I wasn’t a big fan of this book. First off, there are a lot of female characters in this book, and none of them are terribly likable. Ed...