Replenish the Earth

Replenish the Earth Review

Can a marriage of convenience lead to true love?

It is 1735. When her mother dies penniless, Sarah Mortonby is shocked to discover she has inherited a wealthy estate. Advised to sell the crumbling manor house to her neighbour, Matthew Sewell, she visits and decides to keep it instead. Sewell is furious – and he is a man known for getting his own way, no matter the cost.

Unable to manage the land alone, and desperately needing help, Sarah proposes to her bailiff, Will Pursley – himself recently thrown off his farm by Sewell’s thugs. Can they save the estate together? Will the oppressed villagers help them, or be cowed by Sewell’s threats? And will the fondness growing between Will and Sarah turn into love?

From Anna Jacobs, the much-loved author of An Independent Woman and Marrying Miss Martha, Replenish the Earth is a charming saga sure to appeal to readers of Annie Murray, Margaret Dickinson and Ellie Dean.

Title:Replenish the Earth

Enjoy the book review !

    Replenish the Earth Reviews

  • Ness Kingsley

    1.5 stars. (one for the title, half for the innocent cattle)Perhaps it wasn't entirely my cup of tea but it had its charms and I bought it because the title is brilliant and the question of Can a marr...

  • Bea

    I really wanted to love this book, my period for everyday history is the early modern period specifically 1660-1750 but for some reason I just could not get into it. Maybe it was me being in the wrong...

  • mois reads

    Sarah and Will Another lovely read from Anna she does historical novels like no one else this was a joy to read well worth 5 STARS ....

  • william shields

    Brilliant book brilliant author ...

  • Joan Archer

    SagaAnother brilliant read, I know that whenever I pick up a book by Anna Jacobs I will be in for another enthralling story....

  • Mrs S E Munro

    Good readA good read but not as good as her usual storyline. Anything by this author is well worth reading. Love the social history....

  • Leena Aluru

    Loved it....

  • DenXXX

    Another good read from Jacobs. When Sarah's mum is dying she makes her daughter promise to go and see a lawyer who knew her as a child. Although she doesn't want to, as it was her mum's final wish, sh...

  • Dpic

    Another great story. ...

  • Nadine

    The "class" differences were interesting. I almost didn't check it out because of the cheesy artwork....